Skip to content

Free access, trials & credits

Free AI marketing and SEO tools in 2026: what is actually included?

A free account, a public checker and a trial are different offers. This guide checks the five tools in our marketing and SEO shortlist, separates ongoing access from temporary features, and leaves unpublished credit, user and export allowances unspecified.

Last updated

Some links may earn us a commission. Learn more

Genuinely free, limited access, credit traps and paid features

Genuinely free access
Semrush documents an ongoing limited account. Writesonic documents separate public tools. Neither is an unlimited free AI marketing suite.
Limited free evaluation
All five document trial routes. A trial clock, project cap, seat limit and generation allowance are different restrictions; access to a feature does not establish unlimited use.
The credit trap
Do not treat a paid plan’s monthly credits as free trial credits, or assume one credit equals one word. When a quota or evaluation ends, no continued free generation is promised. Unpublished quotas remain unknown, not unlimited.
Paid features and exports
Check ongoing optimization, AI writing, keyword data and report export separately. Semrush disables exports during toolkit trials. Surfer’s trial converts to a paid subscription unless cancelled. These are disclosed conditions, not evidence of deceptive billing.

Five Picked Editors is FIVE PICKED’s collective byline for research-based tool comparisons and buying guides. Last reviewed . Official-source research only; no account, generation or export test was performed. Unverified commercial rights are not presented as permission or prohibition.

Semrush: free access and restrictions

Account, credits, projects and users
The current SEO & AI Search pricing page lists 1 demo project and 10 reports per day across vital tools. These are shared plan limits, not 10 reports for every tool. No monthly AI-word or credit allowance or extra-user entitlement is established here.
Trial and billing
Eligible toolkits offer a separate 7-day trial requiring payment details. It converts to the selected paid plan unless cancelled; previous trial or paid use can affect eligibility.
Feature and export gates
Limited keyword and domain research is available. The reviewed sources do not establish a full recurring free SERP-analysis, optimization or AI-writing allowance. Data export is disabled during toolkit trials; paid-plan export rights do not carry over to a trial.
Business and commercial use
The terms cover unpaid users and permit internal business use within the selected plan. This is not permission to resell the service or redistribute the data without checking the applicable restrictions.

Surfer SEO: free access and restrictions

Account, credits, projects and users
A 7-day Pro trial is documented for new accounts. An ongoing free main-suite plan is not verified. The trial article does not specify numeric document, AI-credit, project or user allowances; full feature access is not an unlimited-volume promise.
Trial and billing
Choose a plan and enter billing details. The selected subscription starts and the card is charged after 7 days unless you cancel before the trial ends.
Feature and export gates
The trial includes keyword research, content audit, AI writing, AI Visibility and real-time SEO guidelines. Continuing the main suite requires paid access. A separate trial export entitlement or numeric SERP-analysis allowance is not verified.
Business and commercial use
The reviewed trial documentation does not explicitly establish trial-output commercial-use rights. No blanket commercial license or exclusivity is claimed; confirm the applicable terms before a client deliverable.

NeuronWriter: free access and restrictions

Account, credits, projects and users
The pricing FAQ offers 7 days under Gold plan terms. No ongoing free main-suite plan is verified. Paid Gold lists document, project, AI-credit and team allowances, but a separate numeric trial allocation or replenishment schedule is not established here; those paid quantities are not presented as free monthly credits.
Trial and billing
New users receive a 7-day free trial with Gold features. No credit card is required. After evaluation, access follows the chosen plan; a lower paid plan can omit features seen during the trial.
Feature and export gates
Gold includes content optimization, AI templates, Content Designer, team functions and integrations. These are evaluation features, not permanent free entitlements. Separate trial keyword-research, export and report quotas are not verified.
Business and commercial use
The pricing page addresses business owners, copywriters and agencies, but this does not establish an explicit commercial-output license for the trial. Trial-specific commercial rights remain unverified.

Frase: free access and restrictions

Account, credits, projects and users
The 7-day trial includes up to 5 articles, 50 audit pages, 25 AI prompts and 3 seats. These are trial caps, not monthly free allowances. No separate trial project count or AI-word allowance is verified. An ongoing free main-suite plan is not established.
Trial and billing
No credit card is required to start. The trial evaluates Professional features; continued subscription access is paid.
Feature and export gates
Trial access includes content planning, internal linking, AI content engines and AI Visibility, including optional agent publishing. Paid-plan article quantities and client-report features are not assumed to apply to the trial. A trial-specific report export allowance is not verified.
Business and commercial use
The terms address submitted Customer Data and responsibility for its legality; that is not an explicit trial AI-output commercial-use grant. No blanket commercial-output entitlement is established here.

Writesonic: free access and restrictions

Account, credits, projects and users
The llms.txt Generator and AI Crawl Checker provide full on-screen output without login or email, subject to daily limits whose numeric amount is not published on the reviewed page. The main platform offers a 7-day no-card trial; its exact trial credits, users, projects and article allocation are not verified.
Trial and billing
The homepage and AI Article Writer advertise a 7-day free trial without a card. This does not establish a permanent free subscription to the full platform.
Feature and export gates
Standalone free tools do not establish free ongoing keyword research, SERP analysis, content optimization or AI writing. Paid Starter article, project and user quantities must not be reused as trial allowances. A full-platform trial report export entitlement is not verified.
Business and commercial use
The terms assign generated outputs to the customer subject to third-party and model-provider rights and human review. Service use follows the order and business-use restrictions; this is not unrestricted resale or guaranteed copyright protection for every output.

Our verdict

For ongoing limited research, consider Semrush’s Free account. For a specific no-login check, Writesonic’s public tools are separate from its paid platform. Evaluate Surfer, NeuronWriter and Frase through their documented trials. Choose by the task, quota, export need and billing conditions; none is presented as unlimited free content production.

At a glance

Free tools compared: Free AI Marketing and SEO Tools in 2026: Free Accounts, Trials and Credit Limits
ToolBest forPrice & access
Rank 1SemrushMarketers making small research checksFree account; optional 7-day toolkit trials with billing detailsOfficial source
Rank 2Surfer SEOSEO writers evaluating an optimization workflow7-day Pro trial; converts to the selected paid subscriptionOfficial source
Rank 3NeuronWriterWriters evaluating SERP-based content optimization7-day trial under Gold terms; no card requiredOfficial source
Rank 4FraseContent teams evaluating a research-to-publishing workflow7-day trial; no card required; capped usageOfficial source
Rank 5WritesonicMarketers checking AI crawlability or evaluating AI content toolsFree standalone tools with daily limits; 7-day platform trialOfficial source

Five tools: free access and trial conditions differ

  1. Rank 1
    Top pick

    Semrush

    An ongoing limited account, separate from toolkit trials

    Who it suits
    Marketers making small research checks
    Standout strength
    An ongoing limited account, separate from toolkit trials
    Price & access
    Free account; optional 7-day toolkit trials with billing details

    Official source · Checked . Currency, eligibility and billing terms apply; offers can change.

    What it does

    The current SEO & AI Search pricing page lists 1 demo project and 10 reports per day across vital tools. These are shared plan limits, not 10 reports for every tool. No monthly AI-word or credit allowance or extra-user entitlement is established here.

    Strengths

    • An ongoing limited account, separate from toolkit trials
    • Official access conditions documented below

    Good to know: Check the detailed trial, export and commercial-use conditions above. Unspecified allowances are not unlimited.

  2. Rank 2

    Surfer SEO

    Pro feature access during a time-limited evaluation

    Who it suits
    SEO writers evaluating an optimization workflow
    Standout strength
    Pro feature access during a time-limited evaluation
    Price & access
    7-day Pro trial; converts to the selected paid subscription

    Official source · Checked . Currency, eligibility and billing terms apply; offers can change.

    What it does

    A 7-day Pro trial is documented for new accounts. An ongoing free main-suite plan is not verified. The trial article does not specify numeric document, AI-credit, project or user allowances; full feature access is not an unlimited-volume promise.

    Strengths

    • Pro feature access during a time-limited evaluation
    • Official access conditions documented below

    Good to know: Check the detailed trial, export and commercial-use conditions above. Unspecified allowances are not unlimited.

  3. Rank 3

    NeuronWriter

    Gold-plan feature evaluation without a card requirement

    Who it suits
    Writers evaluating SERP-based content optimization
    Standout strength
    Gold-plan feature evaluation without a card requirement
    Price & access
    7-day trial under Gold terms; no card required

    Official source · Checked . Currency, eligibility and billing terms apply; offers can change.

    What it does

    The pricing FAQ offers 7 days under Gold plan terms. No ongoing free main-suite plan is verified. Paid Gold lists document, project, AI-credit and team allowances, but a separate numeric trial allocation or replenishment schedule is not established here; those paid quantities are not presented as free monthly credits.

    Strengths

    • Gold-plan feature evaluation without a card requirement
    • Official access conditions documented below

    Good to know: Check the detailed trial, export and commercial-use conditions above. Unspecified allowances are not unlimited.

  4. Rank 4

    Frase

    A trial with explicitly stated article, audit and seat caps

    Who it suits
    Content teams evaluating a research-to-publishing workflow
    Standout strength
    A trial with explicitly stated article, audit and seat caps
    Price & access
    7-day trial; no card required; capped usage

    Official source · Checked . Currency, eligibility and billing terms apply; offers can change.

    What it does

    The 7-day trial includes up to 5 articles, 50 audit pages, 25 AI prompts and 3 seats. These are trial caps, not monthly free allowances. No separate trial project count or AI-word allowance is verified. An ongoing free main-suite plan is not established.

    Strengths

    • A trial with explicitly stated article, audit and seat caps
    • Official access conditions documented below

    Good to know: Check the detailed trial, export and commercial-use conditions above. Unspecified allowances are not unlimited.

  5. Rank 5

    Writesonic

    Standalone free tools are separate from the platform trial

    Who it suits
    Marketers checking AI crawlability or evaluating AI content tools
    Standout strength
    Standalone free tools are separate from the platform trial
    Price & access
    Free standalone tools with daily limits; 7-day platform trial

    Official source · Checked . Currency, eligibility and billing terms apply; offers can change.

    What it does

    The llms.txt Generator and AI Crawl Checker provide full on-screen output without login or email, subject to daily limits whose numeric amount is not published on the reviewed page. The main platform offers a 7-day no-card trial; its exact trial credits, users, projects and article allocation are not verified.

    Strengths

    • Standalone free tools are separate from the platform trial
    • Official access conditions documented below

    Good to know: Check the detailed trial, export and commercial-use conditions above. Unspecified allowances are not unlimited.

Frequently asked questions

Are these five permanently free AI SEO platforms?
No. Semrush documents an ongoing limited account, and Writesonic has separate public free tools. The full-suite trials are temporary; no ongoing free main-suite plan is established here for Surfer, NeuronWriter or Frase.
Do paid monthly credits apply to the free trial?
Do not assume so. A trial feature list and a paid monthly allowance are different evidence. Use only an explicitly documented trial quota; otherwise the allocation remains unspecified, not unlimited.
Can I export all research during a free trial?
No blanket entitlement is established. Semrush explicitly disables data exports during toolkit trials. Trial-specific report export allowances are not verified here for the other four tools.
Does a free trial automatically stop without billing?
Not always. Surfer requires billing details and starts the selected paid subscription unless cancelled before the trial ends. Semrush toolkit trials also convert unless cancelled. NeuronWriter, Frase and Writesonic document no-card trial routes; follow the actual signup conditions.
Can I use every trial output commercially?
No blanket license is claimed. Semrush permits internal business use subject to plan restrictions. Writesonic assigns output ownership subject to third-party and model-provider rights. Explicit trial-output commercial permissions are not established here for Surfer, NeuronWriter or Frase; absence of verification is not a finding that use is prohibited.