Skip to content

Free learning & certificate limits

Free online course platforms in 2026: what is actually included?

A free account, a course preview and a trial are not the same as a complete course with a free certificate. This guide compares the five platforms in our existing online-courses shortlist and separates ongoing access, restricted previews, subscription trials and invitation-only offers.

Last updated

Some links may earn us a commission. Learn more

Free courses, audit previews, trials and certificates

These are different offers. Free courses or a free tier provide the specified content without a subscription charge. A preview may unlock only part of a course. A trial ends and can start billing. A certificate may require paid access, additional completion steps or a separate product.

Avoid these assumptions: “enroll for free” means full access, an audit always includes the whole course, every quiz is locked, or watching during a trial earns a free certificate. Coursera has replaced its old audit experience with a first-module preview for most courses; assessments can be included within that module. A refund guarantee is not a free trial.

Official sources checked . Learning a skill for work is separate from permission to share accounts, copy lessons, resell course content or screen it for an organization. Paid price labels on the cards are not claims that the free access described below includes certificates.

Coursera: access conditions

Ongoing free access or preview
Free preview replaces the old audit experience for most courses: the first module is available, including assessments when provided in that module. Selected Community Impact courses are free. This is not unrestricted free access to every course.
Trial and billing
Coursera Plus monthly advertises a 7-day trial. Check the checkout offer; an annual purchase with a refund window is different from a free trial.
Certificate access
Subscription certificates cannot be earned during a free trial without ending the trial and accepting payment. Financial aid can provide eligible learners with full access and certificates free or at reduced cost; approval is not automatic.
Content and exercise limits
Preview does not unlock the remaining course modules. Do not claim all graded work is locked: Coursera explicitly includes assessments when available within the preview module.
Commercial and organizational use
The general service license is personal and non-commercial unless written permission is obtained; account access cannot be shared. Learning skills is different from redistributing course materials or arranging organizational access.

DataCamp: access conditions

Ongoing free access or preview
The ongoing Basic plan is free and the pricing comparison includes the first chapter of every course. It is a sample of the course library, not full free completion of every course.
Trial and billing
No universal fixed-day Premium trial is verified on the reviewed pricing page. Basic is a limited free plan, not a countdown trial.
Certificate access
The pricing comparison excludes certificates from Basic and includes them with Premium and Teams. Do not treat free chapter access as a free certificate route.
Content and exercise limits
Full courses and career or skill tracks are not included in Basic. Practice exercises and step-by-step projects are limited; no unstated numerical allowance is promised.
Commercial and organizational use
Individual subscriptions are for personal learning. DataCamp documents separate Business plans with organizational seats and administration; a free account is not a shared corporate license.

Skillshare: access conditions

Ongoing free access or preview
The reviewed subscription offer provides a trial, not a verified ongoing free full-library membership.
Trial and billing
Skillshare documents a standard 7-day trial and sometimes longer promotional trials. Payment details are required; the subscription begins charging unless cancelled before the displayed trial end.
Certificate access
Members earn a class certificate after watching all lessons and submitting the class project. The source does not state a separate per-certificate fee; this guide does not promise trial-only certificate eligibility or permanent free certificate access.
Content and exercise limits
The trial provides class access for its stated period; it does not create permanent access after cancellation. The annual pricing page says the year is billed in full after the trial.
Commercial and organizational use
The service license is personal, non-commercial and educational; course materials are not licensed for commercial redistribution. Skillshare advertises separate Teams offerings. This does not mean skills you learn cannot be used at work.

Scrimba: access conditions

Ongoing free access or preview
Freemium includes free introductory courses and introductory scrims from Pro courses. The free selection is ongoing but does not unlock the premium catalog.
Trial and billing
No fixed-day Pro trial is verified here. The free plan and a paid-plan refund guarantee are different offers.
Certificate access
Scrimba’s pricing FAQ says certificate access is paused when an account downgrades to Free until it resubscribes. Do not equate a free lesson with a free completion certificate.
Content and exercise limits
The help center limits free accounts to 10 interactive challenges in total and excludes private Pro Discord channels. Premium courses and unlimited challenges require Pro.
Commercial and organizational use
Scrimba advertises Pro Teams separately for organizational training. No blanket right to share Free accounts or redistribute course content commercially is verified by this guide.

MasterClass: access conditions

Ongoing free access or preview
No ongoing free full-library membership is verified. Eligible recipients can redeem a Guest Pass sent by an existing member.
Trial and billing
A Guest Pass provides 14 days of access and requires payment details. It converts to a paid subscription unless cancelled. The separate 30-day satisfaction guarantee starts with an eligible purchase; it is not free access.
Certificate access
The regular class help page says those classes do not provide an official completion certificate. MasterClass Certificates is a separate product; this page does not present it as a free certificate included in a Guest Pass.
Content and exercise limits
Guest Pass access is time-limited and depends on receiving and redeeming an eligible invitation. A refund guarantee does not provide a no-payment enrollment route.
Commercial and organizational use
Standard terms limit access to personal, non-commercial use and prohibit public performances. Commercial exploitation requires express authorization; an individual Guest Pass is not a company-wide screening license.

Our verdict

Start with the documented free course selection or previews when you only want to explore a subject. Check the certificate route before planning a credential, and the billing date before starting a trial. DataCamp and Scrimba provide limited free tiers; Coursera previews most courses by module; Skillshare and the MasterClass Guest Pass offer time-limited access under different conditions.

At a glance

Course access and paid options: Free Online Course Platforms in 2026: Access and Certificate Limits
ToolBest forPrice & access
Rank 1CourseraCareer learnersCoursera Plus $59/mo; 7-day trial; courses priced separatelyOfficial source
Rank 2DataCampData learnersFree Basic; Premium $14/mo annual-billing offerOfficial source
Rank 3SkillshareCreative learners$13.99/mo equivalent; $167.88 billed annuallyOfficial source
Rank 4ScrimbaNew developersFree intro courses availableOfficial source
Rank 5MasterClassCurious learnersStandard $10/mo equivalent, billed annuallyOfficial source

Five platforms: previews, free tiers and trials differ

  1. Rank 1
    Top pick

    Coursera

    University and industry courses with certificates you can add to your CV.

    Who it suits
    Career learners
    Standout strength
    Structured online courses
    Price & access
    Coursera Plus $59/mo; 7-day trial; courses priced separately

    Official source · Checked . Currency, eligibility and billing terms apply; offers can change.

    What it does

    Coursera offers thousands of courses and certificate programs from universities and companies. You can watch many courses for free, and pay only if you want the certificate or graded work.

    Strengths

    • Huge range: business, tech, data, health, languages and more
    • Courses from well-known universities and companies
    • Many courses can be audited for free
    • Coursera Plus gives unlimited access for one price

    Good to know: Free preview replaces the old audit experience for most courses: the first module is available, including assessments when provided in that module. Selected Community Impact courses are free. This is not unrestricted free access to every course. Subscription certificates cannot be earned during a free trial without ending the trial and accepting payment. Financial aid can provide eligible learners with full access and certificates free or at reduced cost; approval is not automatic.

  2. Rank 2

    DataCamp

    Learn data skills by writing real code, step by step.

    Who it suits
    Data learners
    Standout strength
    Interactive coding practice
    Price & access
    Free Basic; Premium $14/mo annual-billing offer

    Official source · Checked . Currency, eligibility and billing terms apply; offers can change.

    What it does

    DataCamp teaches data analysis and AI skills through short lessons with exercises you complete right in your browser. It has guided career tracks, so you always know what to learn next.

    Strengths

    • Hands-on exercises instead of just watching videos
    • Focused on data, Python, SQL and AI
    • Clear learning paths for beginners
    • A free plan lets you try the first chapter of every course

    Good to know: The ongoing Basic plan is free and the pricing comparison includes the first chapter of every course. It is a sample of the course library, not full free completion of every course. The pricing comparison excludes certificates from Basic and includes them with Premium and Teams. Do not treat free chapter access as a free certificate route.

  3. Rank 3

    Skillshare

    Thousands of practical classes for creative and everyday skills.

    Who it suits
    Creative learners
    Standout strength
    Project-led creative classes
    Price & access
    $13.99/mo equivalent; $167.88 billed annually

    Official source · Checked . Currency, eligibility and billing terms apply; offers can change.

    What it does

    Skillshare is a membership with a very large library of short, project-based classes taught by working creators and professionals.

    Strengths

    • Huge library covering design, illustration, writing, photography and more
    • Short classes you can finish in a weekend
    • Project-based learning
    • Offline viewing in the mobile app

    Good to know: The reviewed subscription offer provides a trial, not a verified ongoing free full-library membership. Members earn a class certificate after watching all lessons and submitting the class project. The source does not state a separate per-certificate fee; this guide does not promise trial-only certificate eligibility or permanent free certificate access.

  4. Rank 4

    Scrimba

    Learn to code in an interactive player where you can edit the lesson itself.

    Who it suits
    New developers
    Standout strength
    Interactive coding lessons
    Price & access
    Free intro courses available

    Official source · Checked . Currency, eligibility and billing terms apply; offers can change.

    What it does

    Scrimba teaches coding with interactive video lessons. You can pause at any moment and edit the teacher’s code right inside the player, then run it yourself.

    Strengths

    • Pause and edit the instructor’s code directly in the lesson
    • A free tier with complete courses, including React
    • Guided learning paths for web development
    • Pro plan adds more courses and certificates

    Good to know: Freemium includes free introductory courses and introductory scrims from Pro courses. The free selection is ongoing but does not unlock the premium catalog. Scrimba’s pricing FAQ says certificate access is paused when an account downgrades to Free until it resubscribes. Do not equate a free lesson with a free completion certificate.

  5. Rank 5

    MasterClass

    Learn from famous experts in beautifully produced classes.

    Who it suits
    Curious learners
    Standout strength
    Expert-led video classes
    Price & access
    Standard $10/mo equivalent, billed annually

    Official source · Checked . Currency, eligibility and billing terms apply; offers can change.

    What it does

    MasterClass offers over 200 video classes taught by well-known experts in areas such as cooking, writing, business, music and more.

    Strengths

    • High-quality, cinematic video production
    • Wide range of topics from famous teachers
    • Easy to watch on TV, phone or computer
    • 30-day money-back guarantee

    Good to know: No ongoing free full-library membership is verified. Eligible recipients can redeem a Guest Pass sent by an existing member. The regular class help page says those classes do not provide an official completion certificate. MasterClass Certificates is a separate product; this page does not present it as a free certificate included in a Guest Pass.

Frequently asked questions

Can I still audit a full Coursera course for free?
Do not assume the old audit model is available. Coursera says its new preview replaces audit for most courses and opens the first module, including assessments when available there. Selected free courses and financial aid are separate access routes.
Does a free trial include a free certificate?
Not automatically. Coursera’s subscription terms require payment before a trial learner can earn a certificate. DataCamp excludes certificates from Basic, and Scrimba links certificate access to Pro. Skillshare has completion requirements; regular MasterClass classes do not provide an official completion certificate.
Which options offer ongoing free access?
DataCamp Basic provides first-chapter access, and Scrimba offers selected introductory courses with limited challenges. Coursera provides first-module previews for most courses and selected free Community Impact courses. None of these means unlimited access to every course and certificate.
How do Skillshare and MasterClass free access differ?
Skillshare documents a standard 7-day subscription trial, with some longer promotions. MasterClass offers eligible Guest Pass recipients 14 days after redeeming an invitation. Both require attention to payment details, cancellation and the displayed billing date.
Can a free account be used as a shared corporate course library?
No shared corporate-use permission is established by this guide. Individual access and organizational licensing are different. Check the applicable terms and team offering; learning skills for work is not the same as copying or redistributing course materials.