Skip to content

Free plans

Free language learning in 2026: what is actually included?

These five language-learning services are not five unlimited free apps. This guide separates public practice resources, first-lesson previews, free community exchanges and time-limited live teaching, using official sources. Free tutor search does not mean free tutoring.

Last updated

Some links may earn us a commission. Learn more

What is free: resources, previews, community or a trial?

Genuinely free resources include Preply’s public English exercises and italki’s community practice. Limited free access includes Babbel’s first lessons and Rocket’s sample course content. Lingoda offers a time-limited live-class trial. None of these means unlimited free private teaching.

The traps to avoid are assumptions: free tutor search is not a booked lesson, a discounted trial is not a free trial, a certificate requires its stated completion conditions, and a trial can start billing. An expired promotion is not a current entitlement.

Official sources checked . Where the reviewed source does not specify certificate or progress-record fees, this guide makes no free-or-paid claim. The card labels distinguish free access from paid full courses or tutoring.

Babbel: access conditions

Ongoing free access or preview
Limited free preview: registration and the first lesson of every course are free. Full courses require a subscription.
Trial and billing
The verified offer is a lesson preview, not a fixed-day full-library trial or live tutor session.
Certificate access
Certificates require completing a course and are downloadable on desktop. Babbel says they are not formally recognised. A free first lesson is not a completed course; no separate certificate price is stated in the reviewed help page.
Progress records and unverified entitlements
The free-access source establishes lesson previews, not full-course completion or unrestricted progress features. No separate progress-record fee is established here.

Lingoda: access conditions

Ongoing free access or preview
Time-limited live teaching: the trial includes 3 group classes or 1 private class, depending on the selected plan. It is not an ongoing free class subscription.
Trial and billing
The trial lasts 7 days. Payment is processed automatically afterward; cancel before the trial ends to avoid being charged.
Certificate access
Lingoda issues certificates for completed CEFR levels. Trial attendance alone does not establish level completion; the FAQ does not list a separate certificate fee.
Progress records and unverified entitlements
The FAQ describes learning progress and level completion. It does not establish a separate progress-record fee or promise a complete level within the free trial.

italki: access conditions

Ongoing free access or preview
Freemium access: italki’s official app listing describes free registration and a free community for questions, practice and language exchanges with other students.
Trial and billing
The same listing describes private lessons paid per class. Free community access is not a free private teacher appointment; no universal free tutor-trial duration is promised here.
Certificate access
The reviewed official app description does not establish a free learner certificate. Check a specific course or assessment before treating it as a credential route.
Progress records and unverified entitlements
No separate progress-record fee or free assessment entitlement is established by the reviewed listing. Community practice and paid private teaching are distinct.

Preply: access conditions

Ongoing free access or preview
Ongoing public resources: Preply provides free English grammar and vocabulary exercises across beginner, intermediate and advanced levels. These are self-study exercises, not private tutor sessions.
Trial and billing
Standard tutoring terms describe buying a trial lesson before choosing a subscription. A conditional replacement after an unsatisfactory paid trial is not an unconditional free first lesson. Check any checkout-specific promotion rather than assuming it applies to everyone.
Certificate access
Preply says learners can request a certificate after at least 10 hours of lessons on its platform. The help page does not state a separate issuance fee; free public exercises are not those tutoring hours.
Progress records and unverified entitlements
The public exercise page does not establish a saved-progress entitlement or a separate progress-record fee. Do not confuse public practice with a tutoring subscription.

Rocket Languages: access conditions

Ongoing free access or preview
Limited course trial: the Intro Module and selected Audio and Language and Culture lessons are available. For the additional levels described in the FAQ, the trial provides the first Audio lesson and Language and Culture lesson for each level.
Trial and billing
A free trial and free language resources are documented. The reviewed FAQ does not specify a fixed trial duration; no expiry or unlimited lifetime free access is claimed here.
Certificate access
No free completion-certificate entitlement or separate certificate charge is established in the reviewed FAQ. Sample access should not be treated as full course completion.
Progress records and unverified entitlements
The FAQ describes weekly progress summaries by email, but does not establish a separate tracking fee or every feature’s free-trial eligibility.

Our verdict

For no-cost practice, start with Preply’s public English exercises or italki’s community. Try Babbel’s first lessons or Rocket’s sample content to assess a self-study course. Lingoda is the documented live-class trial, with an automatic payment afterward unless cancelled. Check certificate requirements separately from access to a lesson.

At a glance

Free tools compared: Free Language Learning in 2026: Previews, Resources and Trials
ToolBest forPrice & access
Rank 1BabbelStructured language learnersFree first lesson of every course; full courses require a subscriptionOfficial source
Rank 2LingodaLive-class learners7-day free trial; then a paid plan unless cancelledOfficial source
Rank 3italkiConversation learnersFree community; private lesson prices set by teachersOfficial source
Rank 4PreplyGoal-focused learnersFree English exercises; tutoring and trial lessons are paidOfficial source
Rank 5Rocket LanguagesIndependent language learnersFree sample-course trial; full courses are paidOfficial source

Free plans and trial options, compared

  1. Rank 1
    Top pick

    Babbel

    Practical, conversation-first lessons you can finish in minutes.

    Who it suits
    Structured language learners
    Standout strength
    Short guided language lessons
    Price & access
    Free first lesson of every course; full courses require a subscription

    Official source · Checked . Currency, eligibility and billing terms apply; offers can change.

    What it does

    Babbel is a language app with short lessons built around real-life conversations, grammar tips and speech practice, in more than a dozen languages.

    Strengths

    • Short lessons that fit a busy day
    • Conversation-first approach
    • Covers many popular languages
    • First lesson is free to try

    Good to know: Limited free preview: registration and the first lesson of every course are free. Full courses require a subscription. The verified offer is a lesson preview, not a fixed-day full-library trial or live tutor session.

  2. Rank 2

    Lingoda

    Live small-group classes with certified teachers, on your schedule.

    Who it suits
    Live-class learners
    Standout strength
    Scheduled online language classes
    Price & access
    7-day free trial; then a paid plan unless cancelled

    Official source · Checked . Currency, eligibility and billing terms apply; offers can change.

    What it does

    Lingoda runs live online classes in small groups, or one-to-one, that follow a clear level system from beginner to advanced.

    Strengths

    • Live classes with certified teachers
    • Small groups for real speaking practice
    • Clear levels from beginner to advanced
    • Many class times to choose from

    Good to know: Time-limited live teaching: the trial includes 3 group classes or 1 private class, depending on the selected plan. It is not an ongoing free class subscription. The trial lasts 7 days. Payment is processed automatically afterward; cancel before the trial ends to avoid being charged.

  3. Rank 3

    italki

    Find a private tutor to fit almost any budget.

    Who it suits
    Conversation learners
    Standout strength
    Choose a language tutor
    How pricing works
    Free community; private lesson prices set by teachers

    Official source · Checked . Currency, eligibility and billing terms apply; offers can change.

    What it does

    italki is a marketplace of language tutors and teachers. You choose a person you like, book a time and pay per lesson, with no subscription.

    Strengths

    • Tutors for a very wide range of languages
    • No subscription; pay only for lessons you book
    • Casual conversation partners and professional teachers
    • Low-cost trial lessons

    Good to know: Freemium access: italki’s official app listing describes free registration and a free community for questions, practice and language exchanges with other students. The same listing describes private lessons paid per class. Free community access is not a free private teacher appointment; no universal free tutor-trial duration is promised here.

  4. Rank 4

    Preply

    One-to-one online tutoring with tutors you can compare and choose.

    Who it suits
    Goal-focused learners
    Standout strength
    Find a matching tutor
    Price & access
    Free English exercises; tutoring and trial lessons are paid

    Official source · Checked . Currency, eligibility and billing terms apply; offers can change.

    What it does

    Preply matches you with online tutors for private lessons. You filter by language, price and availability, try a trial lesson, then book regular sessions.

    Strengths

    • Large choice of tutors in many languages
    • Filter by price, schedule and reviews
    • Trial lessons to test a tutor
    • No long contract required

    Good to know: Ongoing public resources: Preply provides free English grammar and vocabulary exercises across beginner, intermediate and advanced levels. These are self-study exercises, not private tutor sessions. Standard tutoring terms describe buying a trial lesson before choosing a subscription. A conditional replacement after an unsatisfactory paid trial is not an unconditional free first lesson. Check any checkout-specific promotion rather than assuming it applies to everyone.

  5. Rank 5

    Rocket Languages

    Audio-first courses that train you to actually speak.

    Who it suits
    Independent language learners
    Standout strength
    Guided self-study lessons
    Price & access
    Free sample-course trial; full courses are paid

    Official source · Checked . Currency, eligibility and billing terms apply; offers can change.

    What it does

    Rocket Languages offers structured courses built around audio lessons, with voice recognition so you can practice pronunciation, plus reading and writing exercises.

    Strengths

    • Audio-first lessons that build listening and speaking skills
    • Voice recognition to practice pronunciation
    • A one-time payment option for lifetime access
    • Lessons can be used offline

    Good to know: Limited course trial: the Intro Module and selected Audio and Language and Culture lessons are available. For the additional levels described in the FAQ, the trial provides the first Audio lesson and Language and Culture lesson for each level. A free trial and free language resources are documented. The reviewed FAQ does not specify a fixed trial duration; no expiry or unlimited lifetime free access is claimed here.

Frequently asked questions

Are all five language-learning services completely free?
No. Preply offers public English exercises and italki offers free community practice. Babbel provides first-lesson previews, Rocket provides limited sample content, and Lingoda offers a time-limited live-class trial. Full courses and private tutoring have separate payment conditions.
What does the Lingoda free trial include?
The official FAQ describes 7 days with either 3 group classes or 1 private class, depending on the plan. Payment follows automatically unless you cancel before the trial ends.
Does a free account include free private tutoring?
No. italki’s free community is separate from teacher-priced private lessons. Preply’s public exercises are separate from paid tutoring and its standard paid trial lesson. A conditional replacement or checkout promotion is not a universal free lesson.
Can I get a certificate just by trying a free lesson?
Do not assume so. Babbel requires course completion; Lingoda requires completing a CEFR level; Preply documents at least 10 hours of platform lessons before requesting a certificate. No free learner-certificate entitlement is established here for italki community practice or Rocket trial samples.
How long is the Rocket Languages free trial?
The reviewed official FAQ describes the sample lessons but does not specify a fixed duration. This guide does not invent an expiry date or claim unlimited lifetime free access.